The Azureus Experience

From VuzeWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Introduction[edit]

This page is for those users who have been using Azureus, now called Vuze, since version 2 - or even just those of you who remember what the old interface was like and want to have the same "experience" with the latest version. If you're sticking to version 2.5.0.4 - you might want to read this page.

Some people believe that version 2.5.0.4 is the last version which users can have the old style view - not true...

Screenshot of Azureus 2.5.0.4[edit]

Az exp 2504 classic.png

Screenshot of Vuze 3.1.0.0[edit]

Az exp 3100 classic.png

Screenshot of Vuze 4.3.1.4[edit]

Az exp 4314.jpg

Screenshot of Vuze 4.5.0.4[edit]

Az exp 4505.png

Benefits[edit]

So what are the benefits of using Vuze with the classic UI rather than the old Azureus 2.5.0.4? Well - you'd get the features, bugfixes and improvements we've made since then...

Facts[edit]

There are additional plugins which are enabled by default (regardless of which interface you're using), you may decide you want to disable these (more information below).

You can leave "check for updates" checkbox enabled - the interface you were last using is stored in the configuration file, and will be used after you update it. If you're using a version older than 3.0.2.0, there's a possibility that you might be returned back to the Vuze UI - if so, you can just follow this guide to get back to the classic UI (this because the UI being used wasn't recorded in older versions). It shouldn't be the case that you have to keep switching back to the classic UI every time you upgrade (if it is, something's gone wrong!)

Differences[edit]

If you're going straight from 2.5.0.4 to 3.1 (and newer), but sticking to the classic interface - what things are going to be different in terms of usability? Well, it acts the same as it has before, but for the sake of completeness:

  • As the program is now named Vuze, all references to Azureus should now say Vuze.
  • The splash screen has changed (from the blue Azureus screen to the Vuze one).
  • Some additional built-in plugins have been added and are enabled by default.
  • The UI switcher is in the options.
  • You don't get the classic interface by default when you first install - you start off with the Vuze UI, and have to use the UI switcher to get to the classic interface. That should be the only time you need to choose the interface though - every time you run the program from then, the interface should "stick".

How to change it[edit]

  • Download the latest version of Vuze here and install it.
  • Run it and you should see this splash screen...

Az exp vuze splash.png

  • If you were previously using an old version, you might start up with the classic interface - if so, job done!
  • Otherwise, you will get the default Vuze interface, which looks like this (taken from version 4.7):

Vuze47VuzeMainScreen640.png


  • Click on the Tools menu and go to Options. From there, expand the Interface tab, and choose Start. On that page, click on the UI chooser button - you should then be shown this window:

ChooseVuzeUI.png


  • Select "Classic Interface" and click OK. You will be asked if you want to restart the program.
  • The program should restart - you'll be shown the same splash screen as before, but then...

Vuze45classicMyTorrents640.png

  • There we go!

Changing interface after install[edit]

You can choose to go back and forth at any point to any of the interfaces that you like by using the UI switcher - available in the menu (described earlier).

What to do next[edit]

Once you've changed the interface - well, that's it. However, you can make some additional changes...

Disabling Plugins[edit]

You might want to disable plugins which are primarily Vuze related. We recommend that you keep them enabled so that you can use them in the Vuze UI in the future, but if you still want to disable them, here's what to do:

  • On the menu, go to Tools -> Options -> Plugins page.

Az exp disable plugins.png

There is a checkbox on the left to indicate if the plugin is enabled. Uncheck the plugins you no longer want - it's recommended that you don't just start disabling built-in plugins, as you might stop Azureus working altogether! Note - the ability to disable built-in plugins didn't behave correctly in earlier versions, you will need to use version 3.1.0.2 or greater to properly disable these plugins.

Which plugins should I disable?[edit]

Again - it's not necessary to disable the plugins, the following ones are mentioned because they are new builtin ones which aren't entirely BitTorrent related or Vuze related...

Vuze UI related[edit]

  • Embedded Media Player (azemp). This plugin is only used in the Vuze UI to play videos.
  • Friends (azbuddy). Some of the functionality is provided here still works in the classic UI, but is mainly configured through the Vuze UI.

Non BitTorrent (enabled by default)[edit]

  • UPnP Media Server (azupnpav). This plugin allows downloaded content to be available to other UPnP compatible devices - details here.
  • Network Status (aznetstat). This plugin is useful for configuring your network connection - more details here.


Links[edit]

Wiki page explaining more about the move between Azureus 2 and 3 (and the relationship with Vuze).


Resetting HD Media Player (EMP)[edit]

If you need to clear your old Vuze azemp config files out follow these steps:

- Shut Vuze down.

- Click the Start button and type %appdata% in the search field or run dialog and press enter.

- In the folder that comes up, open the subfolder called "Azureus".

- Inside that folder, browse to the "plugins" folder.

- Delete the "azemp" folder.

- Go to C:\Program Files\Vuze\plugins\ (May be C:\Program Files (x86)\Vuze\Plugins\)

- Delete the "azemp" folder.

- Restart Vuze.